top of page


The selections featured on Boulevard of Broken Dreams: Old Songs for a New Depression have been chosen to present a range of colours and emotions as experienced by a cross-section of North Americans in the 1930s. Songs like "Pennies From Heaven" and the title tune comment directly, or at least ironically, on the evaporation of material security for most people. Some compositions, such as Woody Guthrie's "I Ain’t Got No Home in This World Anymore", convey the plight of the poorest blacks and rural whites, while others, like "Flamingo" and "Temptation", reflect a growing, if often confused, perception by city-dwellers of the "exotic" outside world, with whiffs of Asia, Africa, and Latin America mixed together in a potpourri of foreign influences—all of which still simmer in the popular music of today.

The overall goal of Flypaper Records is to bring together people from all types of genres in the hopes of building a broader musical community, which spans genres, ages, and geography. The songs chosen for this and upcoming projects are covers from the well known to the esoteric that fit into a genre or style of music, art, or culture. Future projects will include Film Noir, the Beat Era, and the Jazz Age of the early 20th century. And we also look forward to developing concepts that come from our many musical friends, including those we don't yet know!



The Flypaper Orchestra is a loose affiliation of musicians, visual artists, and performers devoted to bending genres and giving new life to great songs, both classic and obscure. Its first project, Boulevard of Broken Dreams: Old Songs for a New Depression, combines the diverse talents of Canadians Jim Byrnes, Luke Doucet, Ron Sexsmith, Colleen Rennison, Dalannah Gail Bowen with California blues-guitar legend Robben Ford and U.K.-based singer Nina Miranda to name just a few of the more than 40 people who worked on it. These tunes of the 1930s, re-imagined for modern audiences by co-producers Ken Eisner and Joe Cruz, are built on the work of top side-men, such as bassist René Worst, drummer Geoff Hicks, and percussionist Raphael Geronimo.


Anchor 1
bottom of page